Stairwalk #19 Silver Lake Circles

This is stairwalk #19, Silver Lake Circles,  from the book “Secret Stairs” by Charles Fleming.  What an appropriate name for this walk since the streets tend to go in circles. I got lost and found myself going in circles.  A man, who appeared to be in his 80’s, standing in his front yard, asked if I needed help. I asked him where Berkeley Ave was, he said he knew and he would walk with me.  He told me how he moved into his house in 1954.  The houses were built before the streets were put in and because of that, he could not find his house the day he was supposed to move in.  He told me this story several times as we walked.  He also could not find the street I was looking for.  I started to suspect he might have alzheimers and I wanted to ask him if anyone was waiting for him to return home, but didn’t.  I imagined if he would be on the news and reported as missing, wandered away from the house and last seen with a young blonde woman.  Finally, after what seemed to be a really long time, we found the street, thanks to a driver who  helped us by pulling out his Thomas map.  We ended up on a street where Lili Tomlin used to live.  The man said he had never seen this street before.  He has lived a few blocks from here since 1954 and he has never been on this particular street.  I reached the end of the walk where I had to take 100 steps down.  I told him I didn’t think he could walk these steps but I didn’t know how to tell him to get home.  He said he knew how to get home and we said goodbye.

Lili Tomlin used to  live here

Lili Tomlin used to live here

close up of elephant frescoes on house once owned by Lili Tomlin

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stairwalk #19 Silver Lake Circles

  1. lili dauphin says:

    The pictures are amazing. Good job!

  2. Alisha says:

    Hi there! I just Love this site you created. I am new to stair walking, and have been working on getting used to Avon Steps, in Echo Park. I was reading Curbside L.A. and read that they were supposed to be one of L.A.’s longest staircases…obviously, there are longer out there. …at least it looks so from those great photos you have there. I am totally interested in finding more stairs to walk to change things up a bit for me, and your info totally helps. I am an artsy person and Love interesting places. Please do keep me updated on more more more lol. I would even love to join in on a walking group 🙂 Thank you sooooo much. ~ Alisha

Leave a Reply

