Glassell Park South-Taylor Yard, stairwalk #4

This is Glassell Park South-Taylor Yard, #4, from the book “Secret Stairs” by Charles Fleming.

Stair walkers climbing the stairs

Stairs

Charles Fleming led the walk and there were  about  100 people.  The stair walks are getting to be very popular. The walkers met at Rio de Los Angeles State Park, an old railroad switching station known as Taylor Yard. This is the first time I’ve been to this park and it is a very busy place.  The large parking lot was almost full.

House that is accessible only by the stairs

The first set of stairs took us by homes that are accessible only by the stairs. There were so many people that you couldn’t really see the stairs ahead.  Sometimes I let all the people pass so I can get my picture.

I haven’t seen this many people walking  through neighborhoods since I was in Bali, photographing a funeral procession heading to the field for a cremation ceremony.

We walked through a lush green area with a dirt path, which is part of the Santa Monica Conservancy parkland.

This is part of the Santa Monica Conservancy parkland

I was unaware that the Santa Monica Conservancy parkland had areas outside of Santa Monica and Malibu.

When we reached the red barn, which is used for the Mt. Washington Association monthly meetings, we turned and started walking back to Taylor, where our cars were parked.

Mt. Washington Association holds monthly meetings here

Because I was taking so many pictures, I lagged behind and got separated from the group.  I continued to walk down hill and managed to make my way back.  I ended up going a different way than the group but met up with them as I rounded the corner of one of the streets.

House with stone steps and terraced yard

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glassell Park South-Taylor Yard, stairwalk #4

  1. lili dauphin says:

    Your pictures are amazing. I love the stairs. Great way to get some exercise.

Leave a Reply

