Stair walk #33, Bronson Canyon Loop.

This is Bronson Canyon Loop, stair walk #33 from the book “Secret Stairs,” by Charles Fleming.   

Blue bottles

Garden with blue bottles

Someone had posted a picture on Facebook of snow-capped mountains with the Hollywood sign in the foreground.  I decided at the last minute to do a stair walk which has a good view of the Hollywood sign, hoping to capture the picture of the snow-capped mountain. I had an errand to run and laundry to do but I got the urge to go on a stair walk and decided those things can wait.

Heads on top of rock wall

There were no snow-capped mountains behind Hollywood sign and I’m not sure where the picture was taken.  It’s still a great view of the Hollywood sign and I’m glad I went.  It was a nice walk and the headache I had went away. This is a beautiful area with a lot of trees, greenery, foliage, and gorgeous homes.  Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt have a home in this area and I’m guessing other stars have their homes in this area, since I saw two star tour buses as I was leaving the area.  One bus was arriving in the area as the other was leaving.    

One house had Belvedere in letters just above the front door. I wondered who lived there and asked the mail carrier who was delivering mail in the area if the Belvederes lived there.  She said no and the current owners have lived there for many years.  Walking through these areas I often wonder who lives in these homes.  Maybe I should take one of the tour buses and find out.

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles, stairwalks, walking in Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stair walk #33, Bronson Canyon Loop.

  1. Carmen says:

    Hi Karen! My husband & I spent Saturday exploring Beachwood Canyon (by car 🙂 ) and were also wondering about the “Belvedere” house. And when we got home and did an internet search about this mysterious place – you popped up! We love your site! I was then determined to find out the facts about the Belvedere. Two hours later I had some answers and I thought you’d be interested: According to this site – http://tinyurl.com/3jfcebk – owner Los Angeles socialite/press agent Yola Czaderska-Hayek named the estate after a historic palace in her homeland of Poland. But the estate actually was originally built in the ’20’s for the renowned opera star Geraldine Farrar – http://tinyurl.com/cj2ryu and boy was she something! – http://tinyurl.com/3cu4kts . Talk about a life lived out loud with lots of drama and scandal! Following those internet links – 🙂 – it turns out she was divorced from Lou Tellegen a matinee idol / playboy who ending up with his own Hollywood tragic tale – http://tinyurl.com/3bc75yn. Wild, huh?! Isn’t it so much fun to find secret places in Los Angeles and then to learn the stories behind them? Urban archeology! I hope to meet you someday on a set of stairs somewhere in LA!

  2. This is correct. I was born and raised in the “Belvedere” home at 2230 Hollyridge Drive. My parents – Dorothy and Samuel K. Bacon, MD purchased the home cash for $30,000 with all the furnishings after the Pearl Harbor attack. There’s a lot of history in that home for me. We love Yola and Eddie Hayek, who purchased the home around 1979 a few years after my father’s death. We loved that home!. Yola and Eddie have been so kind to invite our family back to see the home when we’ve been in the area. Our mother passed away in 1974. Eddie was so gracious and came to Utah where she had retired near family, to visit her one last time on her 88th, the last birthday before her death. I still keep the beautiful crystal bottle that contained the perfume they gave her. I live in Utah now myself and have performed on stage most of my adult life – from a pre-Broadway tryout to Off-Off Broadway and regional theatre. The Hollywood is still in me. Such great memories of John Wayne, Jimmy Stewart and others that came to our lovely home in the Hollywood Hills.

  3. By the way, that stairway was one my girlfriend and I took many times as a shortcut to school! We lived just a few doors down the street from Lou Zamperini of the film Unbroken. Wonderful people.

Leave a Reply

