Avalon-Baxter Loop stairwalk #15

This is stair walk #15, Avalon-Baxter Loop, from Charles Fleming’s book “Secret Stairs.”  My friend and I did this walk on May 21, the day the world was supposed to end.  I am happy to report that it was a beautiful day and I saw no crime, fires, shooting, violence or anything negative.  Needless to say, the world did not end.

My friend at I started our walk from

Delilah's Bakery

Delilah’s Bakery. It’s a tiny, charming bakery with outdoor seating.  Charles Fleming mentions it in the book and my friend and I decided to meet there.  A few blocks up we stopped at Peter Shire Studio.  Charles mentions the iron sculptures in his book so we decided to take a look.

Peter Shire iron sculpture

Peter was not there and we were told by his friend he had stepped out to run an errand.  She suggested we stop by later, which I did.   On my walk, I passed by a home with an iron structure in front which looked like Peter’s style.  After my walk, I stopped by Peter’s studio and showed him the picture.  He confirmed it was his sculpture and that he used to live in that house.  His brother lives there now.

Peter Shire sculpture in front of house

I also was interested to find out that Peter had done a sculpture which stretches across Lankershim Blvd in North Hollywood, a sculpture I have seen many times before.

Elysian Park

After leaving the studio we came to the first set of stairs, 192 steps.  Charles Fleming mentions that you can see coyotes, foxes, and even deer here; however, I didn’t see any.  The next set of stairs consisted of 231 steps, the largest set of stairs in the Echo Park- Franklin Hills- Silver Lake area.  My friend decided to head back to her car so I continued on the walk by myself.  These stairs took me to Elysian park where I enjoyed taking in views of Griffith Park, the Observatory, Echo Park, Hollywood, Century City towers and the Hollywood sign. 

I  took a trail through Elysian park and noticed quite a few adobe homes.  It’s a very nice area with lots of trees and spectacular views.  One set of stairs took me by some homes that are accessible to the front entrance only by the stairs.  I enjoyed looking at these homes and wondering what it would be like to live in a place that is accessible only by a stairway.

House accessible only by stairs

Adobe house

After leaving Elysian park, I came across a store with a Japanese sign.

Hotel DeVille Lifestyle

Charles mentioned this in the book and wondered what kind of store it was.  I saw the store was open and went inside.  It is named the Hotel DeVille Lifestyle, and is frame shop which does wonderful framing and also sells pictures, vintage style furniture and unique items for the home.  The owner told me she had just opened at that location and she was getting ready for the grand opening that evening.  After I left her store, I stopped by Peter Shire’s studio, which I mentioned earlier in my blog.  This was a really great walk and I enjoyed discovering new places and meeting new people.

Framed artwork Inside Hotel DeVille Lifestyle

Hotel DeVille Lifestyle

You never know what you will see or whom you will meet on these walks.  This is what makes doing the stair walks and exploring so interesting.

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

