El Sereno Circles – stairwalk #9

I joined the Secret Stairs meetup group on stairwalk #9, El Sereno Circles, from the book “Secret Stairs–A Walking Guide to the Historic Staircases of Los Angeles.”   I have wanted to do this walk for quite some time and was glad that it was chosen for a meetup walk.  Charles says in his book that this is a seldom-visited section of the city.  I, for one, have never been to this area before.  Charles also says there are more barking dogs than you can shake a stick at and refers to Ballard Avenue as the doggiest neighborhood in Los Angeles, with all kinds of unfriendly dogs behind fences.  I was expecting mean, growling, vicious dogs but they didn’t appear to be mean.   One dog starts barking and all the dogs bark. I also heard some of the owners yelling at their dogs to shut up.  This was at 9:15 AM on a Saturday and I assume some of the neighbors could have been woken up.  Just as I started to take a picture of one of the dogs, he ran towards the house.  Some mean dog he is.  Another dog just stared at me from the front yard, not barking at all.

The walk was over in no time at all.  It’s only 40 minutes and one of the shorter walks in the book.  It was a nice way to start the day and I felt energized.

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles, walking in Los Angeles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to El Sereno Circles – stairwalk #9

  1. I felt sad for the doggie that was chained to his dog house. 😦

  2. After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your web page, I honestly appreciate your way of
    writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please visit my website as well and tell me your opinion.

Leave a Reply

