Happy Valley and Montecito Heights – stairwalk #10

I joined “Secret Stairs” author Charles Fleming and about 60 stair walkers for his March stairwalk.  I had one stairwalk left to do from his book “Secret Stairs, A Walking Guide to the Historic Staircases of Los Angeles”and this was it.  He did stairwalk #10, Happy Valley and Montecito Heights.  It was a tough walk and has a 5 rating in the book, 5 being the hardest.  Only one other stairwalk is as hard and that is #42, Giant Steps.

Blimp over downtown Los Angeles

Stairs that are not in the book

Stairs that are not in the book

We went through a part of Los Angeles that is rarely seen.  Parts of it are very rural, with chickens, roosters and a lot of barking dogs.  We also saw a view of downtown Los Angeles from the backside, a view not normally seen.  I was able to capture the blimp which was flying back and forth over the downtown buildings.  Charles had discovered some stairs that weren’t in his book, bringing the total number of steps to 800. After walking the stairs that are in the book, we ended up at the starting point.  Charles said anyone who wanted to do the additional stairs can follow him.  Eight of us followed him a few blocks down the street and up a staircase that was probably 100 steps.  I was pretty beat when I took on this additional staircase but I knew I had to do it.  After all, it is my last walk from the book and I didn’t want to miss any part, no matter how tough.

I was introduced to the Secret Stairs when I did my first walk back in October of 2010 with the Secret Stairs meet-up group I then bought the book and started doing the walks on my own and with friends.  I also did the monthly stairwalks with Charles Fleming and once in a while a stairwalk with the meet up group.   I loved the walks so much that I posted my first blog on December 7, 2010.  I’ve gotten in much better shape since I first started and can take the stairs faster now.  I’ve done several of the walks more than once and will continue to do the stairwalks and blog.  I find that I discover or see things I hadn’t noticed before.  I never know what to expect and it’s always an adventure.

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles, stairwalks, walking in Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valley and Montecito Heights – stairwalk #10

  1. Carmen says:

    Congratulations, Karen! That is so awesome that you completed all the walks! I’m sorry that I haven’t been able yet to join you on any of the walks but I do so enjoy reading about all your walking adventures!

  2. I still don’t know how I survived that walk, especially that dirt hill.

Leave a Reply

