Welcome to stairwalking

I did a stairwalk with the Secret Stairs meet up groupIt was a walk to introduce people to stairwalking from the book “Secret Stairs—A Walking Guide to the Historical Staircases of Los Angeles” by Charles Fleming.  The walk was an easy one, a 2.5 on a scale from 2 to 5.  I remember the first stairwalk I did with the Secret Stairs meet up group.  It was a difficult one, a 4.5, and I couldn’t keep up.  After that walk, I bought the book and did walks on my own or with friends.  I did not do another meet up stairwalk until I had completed 14 walks.

There were about 20 people and we did stairwalk #3, Glassell Park, from the book.  One of the walkers lives in the area and never knew about the stairs.  You’d be surprised how many people are actually introduced to hidden staircases in the area in which they live. This particular woman said the walk was more difficult than she anticipated.  I told her the more stairwalks she does, the more she will build up her endurance.  She is a professional dog walker and I told her she can walk the dogs up the stairs.

The first set of stairs was wooden.  At one time, all the city’s public walkways were made from wood.  I love this neighborhood and you can see great views of the San Gabriel Mountains and Forest Lawn.  This walk reminds me of being in the mountains.

The second set of stairs consisted of 132 steps with several landings that had murals painted on them.  I don’t know who painted these, but if anyone reading this knows, feel free to post comment.

Towards the end of the walk there is a path lined with redwood trees.  I thought I saw a coyote dart across the path and into the redwoods but it turned out to be a dog which belonged to the owners who lived across the street.

After the walk, my friends and I ate at The Oinkster.  Good thing we got there when we did because it became quite crowded later with the line out the door. The Oinkster is very popular and was once featured on the TV show “Diners, Drive-Ins,  and Dives.”  It also got a write up in Los Angeles magazine.

Walking back to the car we noticed a lot of trees with large tree trunks.  The trunks had been cut back.

This entry was posted in secret stairs of Los Angeles, stairwalks, walking in Los Angeles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to stairwalking

  1. I totally missed the redwood lined path!!!!!

Leave a Reply

